29 Comments
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Hi Francis , been following for a while now and appreciate the content you post . I’m not in a position to look into 1/1 coaching currently . Just wondered if you could write/share a plan for a one off payment ? Currently train in the gym 3x per week following a full body plan . Thanks

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Hi Francis, I have been following your threads in twitter and am working on weight loss via calorie deficit as stated in Fluffy and Ripped. My question is on deadlifts. In Fluffy and Ripped, it is advised to go for the 3-8 rep range with 1-5 RIR for 5 sets per session.

I have a 1 rep max of 150kg with the bar included but this is with alternate grip. I'd like to hit the 3-8 rep range with around 70% of that intensity which is around 105kg, with normal grip. At that point I could only manage 4-5 reps and have reached failure past the 3rd set. Must the weight be dropped and aim to achieve 8 reps x5 sets per session and make a weekly incremental progress in intensity?

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

I've been regularly lifting 4x/week in an upper/lower split for a year or so and have made progress. I have now taken up road cycling which I really enjoy but find my endurance sucks - I try to go out twice per week for a couple of hours every time. Do you think it is possible to combine strength/hypertrophy training with longer cardio/endurance sessions (+ relevant nutrition for each) to maximise benefit from both and how would you go about it?

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Thanks

Expand full comment
Oct 14, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Cycle 5 days a week 14 mile trip would u just keep that as ur cardio or do hit the gym 3-4 times a week what split should I use

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Any lifts and/or insight for someone newer and taller (6'5" here) to not completely jack up his joints? Free weights can obviously work, but joints (knees,shoulders) definitely fatigue quick at times. Just bad form? Or because my range of motion is longer than most? Machines are always tricky too. Supports and setting are hit or miss for me. Also worth noting, I had hip labrum repair about a year ago. Anything you would avoid or particular exercises to do to preserve/strengthen/keep from getting stiff? Many thanks!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022·edited Oct 13, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Hi mate, thanks for the great content and advice you post. Got a question on diet. Always been the biggest struggle for me over training in the gym. I work away on rotation for 3 or 4 weeks at a time and when I'm away all the food is prepared in a canteen and sometimes options aren't great for clean eating etc. What I'm wondering is if I was tracking macros while at home but then go away where you have no idea what food is going to be put in front of you, how would do you make sure you're hitting your macros?

Expand full comment

Am I missing a trick not taking creatine?Been lifting 3 years as a previous endurance athlete, put on 10kgs naturally, body fat around 12%, hitting that hard plateau stage now - worth trying for a while to push through for more gains? Ps. Excellent content lad 👍👏

Expand full comment

Sup Francis. Been doing RDLs since March '22, and have added 110 lbs to my 6-9 rep range. Finally starting to have issues breaking the bar from the floor at 385lbs. Was able to do it last week, but had to drop 10% and use 365 this week. I don't use a belt and my bw is at 175. I do use straps. What would you recommend?

Expand full comment

Hey mate. Quick one, currently in a deficit and looking to loose some BF! I have been in 3 weeks now and noticing changes around the core. My question is macros. I am eating high protein and say 200-300 carbs and fats about 70-90. Should I keep fats slightly on the high side in rest days and carbs more at the high end during workout days? Really want to smash this cut.

Expand full comment

How to train abs/Core for muscle growth with a previous history of disc degeneration

Spinal flexion is painful sometimes

Expand full comment