15 Comments
Apr 23, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

I find deadlifting with a belt awkward. Do you have any tips where I am going wrong?

Expand full comment
author

You'll usually have your belt a notch looser on deadlifts in comparison to squats. First thing is to make sure it isn't too tight.

I've got a video on belts below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyS9BAg9rYA

Expand full comment
Apr 25, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Thanks 👍

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

What’s the most important thing when doing glute bridges

Expand full comment
author

Same as any other movement when hypertrophy is the goal - full range of motion and make sure you’re in control of the weight at all times.

I find a 2 second squeeze at the top of the movement is very effective for the glutes.

Expand full comment

Or is there something better?

Expand full comment

Hey Francis, huge fan of your tweets. I am trying to push myself, but I keep getting intense headaches at the end of big sets (Deadlifts, shoulder press, heavy lunges). My body doesn't feel overworked besides my neck, traps area. Why is this happening? Sleeping in an awkward position may be my guess.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks, Steve.

My guess is that these may exertion headaches, pretty common when you push the big movements close to failure.

How close to failure are you pushing these movements above?

Expand full comment

Interesting. Definitely to failure. Does that mean I just can’t go that extra rep?

Expand full comment
author

I'd avoid doing deadlifts to failure - I'd always leave about 1-3 reps in the tank. It ain't worth the systemic fatigue going to failure on those.

Just be very sporadic in general with your training to failure on the big lifts.

Expand full comment
Apr 27, 2022Liked by Francis Melia | CoachFHM

Awesome, I’ll give it a try. Thanks mate!

Expand full comment

Thinking of doing RDLs for next hypertrophy cycle. What % of my 1RM conventional deadlift do you think is a good starting point?

Expand full comment
author

Around 50-60% of your Conventional for sets of 6-10. Start on the lower end and build the weights up slowly!

Expand full comment

What (if any) modifications do you make when programming barbell based strength training for women?

Expand full comment
author

In terms of the actual movements, none at all. Women can perform the exact same exercises as men.

The differences come in the programming of the other variables. Such as how much volume and intensity they can handle. This is also effected by what phase of the period women are also on.

Expand full comment